Is New Jersey a no-fault state?

New Jersey is a no-fault state when it comes to paying for injuries after an accident. This means that, regardless of who is at fault for an accident, your insurance policy should cover your own injuries. 

This could be confusing if you are a newcomer or visitor to the state — in fact, these rules often confound lifelong residents. Please read on for a brief overview of the insurance laws in New Jersey and what they could mean to you if you get into an accident. 

As explained on FindLaw, there are two common categories of auto insurance in New Jersey. Most relevant to this discussion, they both have the same requirements for personal injury protection. 

PIP is a type of coverage designed to protect you regardless of who is at fault for your injury. For both basic and standard policies, the minimum amount of coverage is $15,000 and the maximum is $250,000. 

For example, if you had to see the doctor after a car-crash injury, you should be able to make a claim with your insurance company under your PIP policy that would pay the designated percentage of your expenses up to the maximum amount of coverage. 

In the event that you had serious injuries, your losses could easily exceed the maximum limit of your PIP policy. In this case, you may need to pursue further action against responsible parties in order to get compensation for your injuries.